The NaNoWriMo Starting Line

The excitement has been building steadily, especially this last week. Sure enough, on the eve of NaNoWriMo, I have to take my computer to the shop so massive amounts of viruses can be removed. And my calendar is littered with commitments, so I can’t become a true hermit. And of course, I don’t feel like I used my time wisely enough, like I didn’t truly prepare. I have three new projects in addition to the novel I’ve been working on for an age and I’ve finally settled on one for my NaNoWriMo novel. I’m calling it The Chaos Queen for the moment

But I read the first Pep Talk from Chris Baty and it fired me up to get going.

So I sat down, rolled up my sleeves and started this crazy marathon. I just finished today’s first writing session, which was mostly one scene. At first, it was torturous and painful. Contrived and self-conscious. Suddenly, it exploded and my two characters largely did everything I asked them to, but in their own very particular ways, in ways I never would’ve thought they’d do them. Suddenly, I had an entire backstory for one of my main characters, a pseudo-villain (who’s mostly well-meaning and misunderstood), who I love. I just let the characters have their say with each other and just when it felt like we’d gone too far, revealed too much too early, I realized I had a doozy of a conflict. I got excited. I knew why my almost-villain existed in the story, what he wanted and what he was trying to do to get it. All this in 6 pages and 1,756 words. So I’m off to a great start.

Never one to leave well enough alone, I’m going to sprint for the next check point, try to put some words in the bank for those lean days ahead that don’t go so well. Stay tuned – more later.

2 Comments

Filed under NaNoWriMo, writing updates

2 responses to “The NaNoWriMo Starting Line

  1. Brooke

    Aw, I’m so happy for you! Love the name of the new novel. How long have you been working on it (or thinking, I should say)?

    I feel like such a jerk but I was NOT prepared for nanowrimo this year. In fact the past few weeks have been so awful I’ve thought about quitting my job and moving to a far-off island. Next year, novel, next year. 🙂

    But for this year I’ll stay tuned to yours.

  2. emofalltrades

    I’ve had the idea for a while, but I’ve only been working on it since NaNoWriMo started on the 1st! :

    It’s never too late to start! I didn’t get any words written yesterday or today, so I’m basically as “behind” as you’d be if you started now. Do it! 🙂

    I’m always grateful for your comments, thanks!

Leave a Reply

