A belated fess up

Halfway through the month, I have written 25,692 words. I am, therefore, a little more than halfway to my 50,000 word count. Whooo hooo and whew. 🙂

I got behind by a day or two (several thousands of words) and then hustled to catch back up. It’s all pretty chaotic, but I keep reminding myself that’s okay. That’s what NaNoWriMo is about, after all. A beautiful, chaotic, wordy mess. 🙂 And since my book is called The Chaos Queen, I’m thinking maybe chaos is an indicator that I’m on the right track. At least in the first draft.

In other news, I saw an amazing show this weekend. It was The Devil Makes Three, Hurray for the Riff Raff and Death By Arrow at One Eyed Jacks. I saw The Devil Makes Three and Death By Arrow a few months ago at The Hi-Ho Lounge and that was a phenomenal show, as well. So, it was good to see them playing together again and I really enjoyed One Eyed Jacks. When I heard Hurray for the Riff Raff was playing this show with the other two bands, I stumbled upon their awesome Daytrotter Session and they’re quickly becoming one of my favorite bands.

And also, I’m reviewing Barb’s book for 225. And though I’ve been talking non-stop about her book since I read it, it was actually kinda hard to think of the best words to use in print to review her work. But fun. It won’t be out for a while, but I’ll be sure to let you know when the issue hits newsstands in Baton Rouge. Lol.

So there it is, my belated fess up. 🙂

4 Comments

Filed under Fess Up Friday, freelance work, Friends, music, NaNoWriMo, New Orleans, writing updates

4 responses to “A belated fess up

  1. Brooke

    Yay for the halfway mark! It’s so wonderful that you’re doing this–I truly do not have the balls. Just keep chuggin along like the little choo choo you are, and know that the world IS rooting for you!

    (I’ll never forget one prof at LSU telling me, oh so many years ago, that the world doesn’t care if you, or me, or anyone, continues to write another day in our lives. While that is and was a practical reminder, I reject it, and remind you that the world DOES care if you write. I CARE. So take that, pragmatism. 😉

  2. emofalltrades

    It is so lovely to be a part of such a talented mutual admiration society. ;”) Wait… um… I mostly meant that I’m honored to have your support because I admire you so much and you’re tres talented. Are you blogging completely privately now or is there still a public blog? If so, be sure to post it next time you comment. Folks can get much enjoyment from reading Brooke. I know I do.

  3. Terri

    I’m commenting, therefore I am no longer a stalker (according to you, Emilie) !

    Hope you had a great Thanksgiving, and are enjoying the weekend.

  4. emofalltrades

    Yay, Terri! 🙂 Yes, to me, there is a huge difference between “stalker” and “commenter.” Lol. I’d love to see more discussion/debate/etc. here on the site. And I’m so glad to know you’re reading. Hope you’re doing well.

Leave a Reply

