Lorrie Moore said it best

Reading the Lorrie Moore-Paul Vidich interview in the Fall 2009 issue of Narrative Magazine:

VIDICH

You’ve said that a short story is like a mad, lovely visitor with whom you spend a rather exciting weekend. How would you characterize working on a novel?

MOORE

I think I’ve referred to a novel as a job. But it can also be much more fantastic than that: an alternative universe you enter through concentration and writing. But of course it’s difficult to set your life up to accommodate an alternative universe, which is why writing one can take a long time.
3 Comments

Filed under art, funny, literature, what I'm reading

3 responses to “Lorrie Moore said it best

  1. A job, a job, a job. Indeed, it is a job. Especially during revision, after revision, after revision. But sometimes there are the rare moments (usually during the joyous frenzied writing of the first draft) when it can be a mad lovely visitor and an exciting weekend too.

  2. emofalltrades

    @Aimee: I’m glad! @Mary: I mostly find it reassuring that writing is a job, though I do love the mad, lovely visitor. I’m just ready for somebody to pay me for my job. 🙂

Leave a Reply

