NaNoWriMo Day 1

Aimee and I had ourselves a word war at midnight, in which I managed 854 words in a half hour and them promptly fell face-forward into the pillow. Had to run some work errands once I woke up and then it was back to Cheers to do a bit of freelance work. Had a second half hour word war with Aimee around noon and chalked up another 853 words. And then, just now, I added another 445 in a 10-minute word war, again with Aimee.

So, I’m not having trouble as of yet with my word count. You want to know what the “problem” is?

I’m writing two different stories. Yes, really. Sigh. I *still* haven’t decided which story to go with for 2010.

Maybe you can help me.

Story #1 is a story I’ve been thinking about since at least last year’s NaNoWriMo. It’s about the daughter of a famous singer who died when she was young and who’s trying to find her way as an adult performer (after a disasterous hit pop song in her teens). She’s using her mother’s past (and more specifically, her little black book), hoping that once she knows who her mother was, she’ll know herself better as well.

The Advantage: I’ve been wanting to write this story for a long time and it involves a lot of fun research into the stories behind songs and their singers, as well as celebrity families.

The Disadvantage: Far too easy to get sucked into the research and play, rather than write.

Story #2 is a rom-com about two friends (and girl and a guy) who are setting each other up on a series of dates, Millionaire Matchmaker-style.

The Advantage: The story is fun and easy, no research required, just pure creation.

The Disadvantage: In parts it’s already felt like a re-hash of my first NaNo story.

And now, my first-ever Jill of All Trades poll. I can’t promise I’ll take your advice, but I’d love your feedback anyway.

11 p.m. Update: Well, some folks took up my word war challenge. Thanks to new Twitter followers and Aimee, my Day 1 total is 3,180. I still need help deciding what to write, though. (Your votes above are pretty much a landslide). So far the word counts are Story #1 = 1,881 and Story #2 = 1,299.

5 Comments

Filed under funny, NaNoWriMo, weirdness, writing updates

5 responses to “NaNoWriMo Day 1

  1. *sigh* I’m having similar issues Still. I can’t decide between two stories. *bangs head on desk*

    • emofalltrades

      Hi NaomiRuth – I’m sorry to hear that. Yesterday was frustrating and I wouldn’t wish that on anybody. Here’s how I “solved” my two-story dilemma. At least, so far. I picked the story that I thought would be the most fun to write during NaNoWriMo. This required some soul-searching and knowing myself as a writer. I’m not as invested in Story #2, but I am interested in it. For me, the investment I feel in Story #1 is a liability during NaNoWriMo because I value it too much to trust the it to the wild and insane process. But the only way this will work, I think, is that I gave myself permission to write Story #1 whenever I felt inspired to. I don’t know if that will work for you, but that’s how I made my decision. Good luck!

  2. Pingback: NaNoWriMo Day 2 « Jill of All Trades, Master of One

  3. Pingback: NaNoWriMo Day 5 « Jill of All Trades, Master of One

  4. Pingback: NaNoWriMo Day 26 (Fess Up Friday) « Jill of All Trades, Master of One

Leave a Reply

