NaNoWriMo Day 3

I had an interview this morning for an upcoming 225 Magazine piece. Then, errand running. Then, I noticed that my “5th Anniversary of Books” essay is up on the 225 website. I was honored to be asked to encapsulate the last five years of the book section and of the literary scene in Baton Rouge. Check it out.

No words yet. Soon!

11:25 p.m. Update: Thanks to a half hour and a 15-minute word war with two folks on Twitter (I’ll name you if you want me to), I racked up 1,691 words, exceeding my NaNo-mandated daily word count, but just missing my own of 2,000. Yes, I still have 33 minutes and only need 400 words, so I may make my own word count yet.

I rewarded myself with PBS’s documentary CIRCUS, which was phenomenal. I loved the music on the show so much I went and bought four cds by the band The Features, who have several songs on the soundtrack. It’s not just music – it’s also muse.

Also, thanks to everybody who’s adding me as a buddy on NaNoWriMo. I’m glad to be buddies, even if one of you is also buddies with somebody who has already passed the 17,000 word mark. We just won’t talk about that anymore. 🙂

So far, one of my favorite things about NaNoWriMo2010 is the extra community I’ve found on Twitter. Yes, Twitter can be very distracting and it’s probably not the best thing to have turned on while writing. But, it’s also been a very helpful tool. I tweeted that I wanted to word war because I needed to get my word count up and a perfect stranger offered to war with me. How cool is that?

11:43 p.m. Update: 389 words in 10 minutes. That brings me up to 2,080 for the day and 7,334 total so far.

2 Comments

Filed under books, bragging on, freelance work, NaNoWriMo, pop culture, weirdness, writing updates

2 responses to “NaNoWriMo Day 3

Leave a Reply

