NaNoWriMo Day 5

No writing yet, but I thought I’d share something that I think is interesting. There’s a lovely, cheap book sale that happens here in Nola and I sometimes drop by when I’m doing other errands. I bought several Christmas presents for friends and two music-related novels for myself (Story #1). It wasn’t until I got home that I noticed the interesting thing about the two books I bought for myself.

Confessions of a Backup Dancer is a young adult novel by Anonymous and Tucker Shaw. It was published in May of 2004 by Simon Pulse. Off the Record is by Jennifer O’Connell (who also writes YA). It was published in September of 2005 by New American Library. Their covers look completely different at first glance – one is silver and glossy and features a large female figure dancing, taking up the whole cover and the other is red, black and matte with a tiny female figure dancing on the record, which takes up a large portion of the cover. But the female figure is in the same pose, wearing the same clothes – it’s the same figure.

It happens all the time, actually. Can you think of any notable examples?

Yes, I will write and soon. Update coming later.

5:28 p.m. Update: I posted about Fess Up Friday over at Write Or Die, which developed into a great ongoing conversation and a challenge to word war. I did a half hour war and then an hour war with Aoife, which garnered 1,049 and 2,438 words respectively, bringing my daily total to 3,487 and my grand total to 12,949. And now for some Friday fun – I’ve earned it!

Leave a comment

Filed under books, Fess Up Friday, music, NaNoWriMo, New Orleans, pop culture, writing updates

Leave a Reply

