NaNoWriMo Day 13

Well. Last night was my early halfway mark present – the Dresden Dolls concert at Tipitina’s. And it was a worthy halfway mark present because it was the best concert I’ve ever been to. Absolutely amazing. There’s too much to talk about to mention here, but basically it was good from beginning to end. For instance, Meschiya Lake and a multi-piece band, probably the Loose Marbles, played outside while everyone waited to get into the show. That was just the music while you waited in line! And Neil Gaiman was hanging out and watching them as well. At one point, Amanda Palmer squeezed in front of me to go in through the side door. I had great friends for company. Then, there were two amaaaaaazing opening acts, one of which is local. Why Are We Building Such a Big Ship and Jason Webley. And then the Dresden Dolls, who were just brilliant. Their encore songs were covers of “Mein Herr,” (Amanda across us on the balcony, leaning out to Brian Viglione playing guitar on the stage below, even straddling the railing and leaning back) and “War Pigs,” if that tells you anything about the crazy, genius, energetic performance. Anyway, at the end of the show, some of us waited around to see if they’d come out. Brian did, sidling up beside me and Maurice while we were singing and dancing to “My Girl.” I looked over at the dude dancing next to me and it was Brian of the Dresden Dolls! Not only was he utterly gracious when he signed my c.d., he took it backstage for Amanda to sign as well since she’d hurt her foot. And I got several hugs as well. I’ll treasure last night for a long time.

Well, today, I had to wake up after not enough sleep to get my car worked on and finish up a project for work. And of course, I was all wrung out when it came time to do my NaNoWriMo words. I’ve been falling asleep in the middle of wars, just utterly unable to keep my eyes open and my fingers typing. I think I’ve forgotten how hard it can be to write when your whole body just wants to lay down, when your brain is like, “uh uh, I just wanna watch Law & Order and play Freecell, lady.” But, I solicited a word war on Twitter and managed 2,094 words in two half-hour wars. Which brings my grand total so far to 22,102. So, I’m just a little bit ahead once again and I hope I can get even further ahead tomorrow, store up some words for this coming week and whatever it may bring.

5 Comments

Filed under freelance work, Friends, music, NaNoWriMo, New Orleans, pop culture, weirdness, writing updates

5 responses to “NaNoWriMo Day 13

  1. Great post! I immediately followed your links and bought Sidewalk Saints. Can’t wait to get it!

  2. emofalltrades

    That is so cool to hear! Sidewalk Saints is a great book and all the performers inside it are incredible.

    I have a cool story about how I bought my copy. I found out about it before it was available, then saw Jim Flynn on Frenchmen Street one night and tackled him, begging for a copy. I actually ditched my friends in a huge crowd to get it and they were worried for a sec. That’s the not-cool part of the story. But they were really amused wheN I came back with a book at like 2 a.m. 🙂

  3. It was the best show. I’m still thinking about it at least once an hour. I think it also made a convert of dear Paul (War Pigs might’ve helped). I am so glad you were able to meet Brian and have Amanda sign your cd! He sounds incredibly sweet.

    Man, what a great memory! Thanks for being my gal date!

  4. emofalltrades

    Those encore songs were some of the best music/performance art I’ve ever seen. They would’ve made a convert of the worse critic. I’m so glad we had that experience, all around. One of those rare perfect evenings. Even my aching feet were perfect.

  5. Pingback: My end of 2010 homework « Jill of All Trades, Master of One

Leave a Reply

