NaNoWriMo Day 28 – the 10K day

As often happens, my phenomenal Day 26 was followed by a (relatively speaking) fallow day. As it was my parents’ last full day in the city, I spent a lot of it with them. I went to their hotel in the morning so we could all listen to my brother on the radio – Hard Luck Norm on kufo.com. Mamma Mia! and I played cards and talked with Papa Bear with the hard rock in the background until we’d all hush up when Norm‘s voice came on. It was really fun. We’re all proud of him.

Mamma Mia! and I had a quick lunch (this was after I ran into both my 225 editor and a former boss within a few feet of my house), then went off to see Burlesque. It’s about what you’d expect, maybe a little more: high-energy, sexy, great singing and dancing, very attractive people all around. Not the best writing or acting in the world, but by far not the worst. By far. And I was surprised by how many funny lines were in the movie, thanks mostly to Stanley Tucci (and some by Kristen Bell). Cher was poignant and Christina Aguilera, while the acting weak link in the movie, was powerful whenever she was on stage.

We rounded out the evening with Papa Bear at Juan’s and had a good time together. There was a quick cameo appearance by Jamey, which delighted my parents and then they left me to write. As it was the end of the day, I “only* got about 1,800 words done. Nothing to sneeze at, to be sure, but not quite the word count I need at this point, especially as the last two days of the month are work days.

Woke early today to see off my parents. And then I went straight to Cheers and I wrote. As my parents were driving home to Georgia (7+ hours), I spent that time writing. Maurice and Jamey came by and cheered me up and on. It was physically exhausting, but relatively easy going thanks to some steady word wars with folks on Twitter. By around five p.m., I had just under 7,870 words and my parents were getting closer to home.

I took a break for Thanksgiving leftovers and my Netflix movie – Get Him to the Greek. Was absolutely prepared to hate this movie because both Russell Brand and Jonah Hill mostly annoy me. But, I laughed out loud during most of the movie. I loved the Kristen Bell cameo where she played Sarah Marshall. Too funny.

Anyway, I actually got back to work after dinner and the movie. I knocked out a couple more thousand words and made today an official 10K day. My final count for today is 10,604 and my total so far is 42,111. This is actually doable at this point. Really. I just have to remember that tomorrow when I’m exhausted after work.

Can’t stop now!

Leave a comment

Filed under bragging on, family, Friends, funny, movies, NaNoWriMo, New Orleans, pop culture, review, writing updates

Leave a Reply

