Listen to this – Lissie and Grace Potter

Tuesday at the House of Blues Parish Room brought singer Lissie to New Orleans. I’ve been a fan of hers for a long time and have written about her on my own blog and for the So You Think You Can Dance fan site PureSYTYCD. So I was stoked when I saw that she was playing the House of Blues. I suspected from her YouTube videos that Lissie is an amazing live performer and I was not wrong.

In between songs, she told many little stories and cited Metallica, Led Zepplin and Janis Joplin as influences. Like Janis Joplin, she has a voice that sounds not just husky, but eternally on the edge of hoarse. She can do a stellar bluegrass, then turn around and sing what could be a pop hit on the radio, but through it all is a solid rock core. She’s a very pretty girl (several female audience members kept calling out, “You’re so pretty!”), but performs with an abandon and lack of concern for her appearance that is refreshing.

If she’s ever back in New Orleans, you should definitely check her out. In the meantime, read this excellent Gambit write-up and th audience-made video of Lissie’s encore performance of Kid Cudi’s “Pursuit of Happiness” from Tuesday’s show that I found. I’ll also embed my favorite of her songs, “When I’m Alone.” While you’re looking, check out her cover performances of Lady GaGa’s “Bad Romance” and Lionel Richie’s “Hello.”

Planning ahead, if you haven’t heard of Grace Potter and the Nocturnals yet, start checking them out now. They’re phenomenal and will be at House of Blues February 20th.

5 Comments

Filed under music, Singers

5 responses to “Listen to this – Lissie and Grace Potter

  1. I agree on Grace Potter – she is a great performer and her band rocks – they opened up for Gov’t Mule on a couple of their tours and became a hit with the hardened Mule faithful so that says something! Lissie sounds like she would also be great to check out, thanks for the tip!

  2. emofalltrades

    I’m excited I could turn you onto somebody new – Lissie is awesome! I’ve never seen Grace Potter and the Nocturnals live, so I’m looking forward to the show. Maybe I’ll write about that show as well. Can I assume you’re going to the GPN show?

  3. Yes, do write about the GPN show – I don’t know if I’ll make it, will try and get out for it.

  4. Pingback: Loving Lissie locally « Jill of All Trades, Master of One

  5. Pingback: Grace Potter & the Nocturnals at House of Blues « NOLAFemmes

Leave a Reply

