The writing habit – Fess Up Friday

I can’t count the number of times I’ve read/heard/thought different permutations of the same thought lately: If you write every day, if only for 10, 15, 30 minutes a day, it adds up. Certainly more than not writing at all. Mary reminded me in a comment on my last post. I reminded my sis Aimee last night in a phone conversation and I know, know, know with every fiber of my being that it’s true, but it takes a surprising amount of courage and willpower to make writing a habit.

But writing makes me happy, so I’m working on it. To that end, I’m resurrecting Fess Up Fridays, a borrowed idea that emphasizes accountability.

On Monday, I finished a short story called The New Heart. I let it sit for a few days, then re-read and edited today. Then, just a little while ago, I sent the story to my first-read committee.

All week, I made attainable goals to tackle my freelance work. I usually met my goals each day, but more importantly, I got a lot of work done. While working on some freelance yesterday,  I couldn’t shake the weirdest thought and that suddenly became an idea for a book. I texted sis Aimee, knowing immediately that this was something for the two of us to write together, and she was taken by the idea as well. We might’ve just stumbled upon our NaNoWriMo 2011 project, with plenty of time to outline, create characters and world-build. Wild.

I am not nervous at all about collaborating with Aimee. We used to write together as kids and we’ve been reading each other’s individual work for years, so we know each other’s voices and strengths. In fact, I’m the opposite of nervous. I’m excited. I can’t wait for NaNoWriMo, though I know our idea is such a big one that we’re going to need all this time to do the groundwork and be ready to write.

One of my biggest challenges is follow-through. I get tons of ideas (usually in a bunch of different genres) and rarely see something through to completion. Some version of completion, yes. True completion, not usually. So, my goal is to write every day so I can tackle all these different ideas and genres, to see things through. Because it feels really good to finish a project and it’s important for my soul, as well as my success.

5 Comments

Filed under family, Fess Up Friday, freelance work, Friends, musing, NaNoWriMo, writing updates

5 responses to “The writing habit – Fess Up Friday

  1. Love the concept of accountability Fridays. 🙂 May I join you? I have another short play to write (on assignment) and a longer stage play that I need to freaking finish, just to say I’m *done* with it and get it out of my head. Plus, I have an idea for NaNoWriMo, but don’t want to work on it till I get the play done. Oh yeah, and I’m pregnant. 😛 Since you and I seem to share the struggle of “I-have-a-billion-ideas-and-can’t-do-them-all”, I would love to join you in this accountability day. 🙂

  2. I love the idea of Fess Up Friday, especially since it sounds so much more involved than the daily word count updates I usually post during NaNoWriMo.

    • emofalltrades

      Well, it can either be more or less involved, whatever your preference. You can simply update word counts or you can write down all your excuses/euphoria depending on how productive you’ve been. 🙂

  3. Pingback: My end of 2011 homework | Jill of All Genres

Leave a Reply

