NaNoWriMo 2011 Day 3

Excuses.

There are a million of them. I think of If You Give a Mouse a Cookie, a children’s book that neatly explains the concept of the slippery slope from logic (the ONLY college course I almost failed) often – it’s one of the ruling philosophies of my life. If you give in to one excuse, you’ll give in to another and then three more and then ten more. And suddenly, you’re excusing yourself before you’ve even begun.

There are valid excuses, of course. Our children get sick. We have to work. We want to do something else, in any given moment, even if we have a glorious endeavor we’d like to complete. But we can get derailed so early, so easily.

And the reality is, without procrastination and excuses, I wouldn’t have stumbled upon this video:

Murmuration from Sophie Windsor Clive on Vimeo.

And, in turn, I wouldn’t have remembered experiencing my own murmuration of starlings on the Lake Ponchartrain Causeway at 17 years old. And a story I will now write (surely, once all of my excuses are exhausted) might never have been written. Well, it’s not written yet. But it might be. Because I let myself be distracted. Which is another word for inspired.

Total word counts:

Aimee: 2,800 (approximate)

Emilie: 3,272 (348 words today)

NaNoWriMo Day 3 Goal: 4,998

Leave a comment

Filed under musing, New Orleans, random rant, writing updates

Leave a Reply

