NaNoWriMo 2011 Day 6

The weekend was meant to be a big catchup, but that’s not exactly how it’s turned out. Or rather, I haven’t been able to catch up on my NaNoWriMo word count as much as I’d like because I was catching up on other things – with friends, errands, a few necessary chores and with sleep.

NaNoWriMo is tough regardless. But when you’re working 60+ hour weeks and you have just two days to see your friends and do everything you weren’t able to do during the week, it gets tougher. One of the best things I did this weekend was re-read my NaNoWriMo posts from last year. Last year, I’d started a new film job (So Undercover) a week into NaNoWriMo, so I was able to get a big headstart and then when work started, it slowed down a bit. I struggled last year, too (after that first week). It’s easy to forget the struggles of the past in the current moment, but it’s important to remember. I struggled last year and I won last year.

Maurice gave me a pep speech while I was on my way back from the wedding last night. He said that I should write whatever interested me most. And while I like the story Aimee and I are writing for NaNoWriMo, I think I struggle with feeling like I can only write one thing. In all these years of doing NaNoWriMo and in all the years I’ve won, I’ve never finished an entire draft of a book, even if I did write 50,000 words. I got a great start on a book, but I’ve never been able to get through an entire story arc in 50,000 words. So why should I worry about only writing one thing anyway? If feeling locked into one story is causing stagnation, it’s defeating the purpose of NaNoWriMo – which is about pure creation.

So I hereby give myself permission to write whatever I want whenever I want, aiming for 2,000 words a day, whatever those words may be. And just in time, because there’s a short story I want to write…

I’ve written 170 words today, by the way. Tomorrow will be better.

Aimee, feel free to update when you get to a stopping point (or tomorrow).

Leave a comment

Filed under Friends, musing, NaNoWriMo, writing updates

Leave a Reply

