NaNoWriMo 2011 Days 8 and 9

I didn’t write on Day 8 and it looked like I wasn’t going to write on Day 9. Aimee and I had a pretty great conversation about the book today where we worked out some of the trickier issues with the time travel (yes, time travel, ha). We’ve had a few good conversations about the book the last few days, but I haven’t really felt excited about it unless we’re talking.

I mentioned this to Aimee tonight and suggested that we word war – with a twist. Together, we’d pick a scene and both write it separately. We’ve generally been on the same page (eerily so), so I thought it would inspire us and also reveal the aspects of the story we’re both leaning toward.

Aimee had a better suggestion. She said we should each assign a scene for the other to write. I thought it would be hard to assign her a scene – after all, I’ve been having trouble dreaming up scenes for myself to write. But almost instantly, I knew which scene she should write and she knew which to assign for me. And the best part is that they were perfect scenes for us to write – both naturally “our” scenes and challenging. She assigned me the first time one main character time travels. I assigned her the first time two characters meet.

And it worked! I got 834 words and she got 396 (she’s still writing). Which brings our NaNoWriMo totals to 4,762 and 4,104 respectively, as of this writing.

I have more of the scene I want to write, but need to go to bed. Meanwhile, we’re going to start assigning each other scenes to write every day. Part impetus, part writing prompt, all collaboration.

From our conversation after our very special word war/writing assignments:

Me: We’re great collaborators.

Aimee: Always were.

1 Comment

Filed under NaNoWriMo, writing updates

One response to “NaNoWriMo 2011 Days 8 and 9

  1. Aimee

    Sorry I wasn’t keeping you updated there for a couple days. I’m a slacker–wait, no I’m not. Just drowning in work and exhausted. But i’m picking back up again now. Assignments are good. You know how I am with deadlines.

Leave a Reply

