Do you know what it means

I left on Nola Monday after we closed the office, ahead of the worst of the evacuation traffic. I am very, very lucky to be having a wonderful, relatively relaxing extended stay with friends, who have made me very much at home. We haven’t lost power once and I’ve been able to stay in touch with friends back home to reassure myself that they are safe, that my home is safe. This is a cakewalk compared to how it could’ve gone, compared to what I prepared for.

And still.

I miss normal life. I miss my friends and my house and my neighborhood. I miss New Orleans.

4 Comments

Filed under Friends, music, musing, New Orleans

4 responses to “Do you know what it means

  1. Jessica

    I watched it all from Vancouver – worrying about Dave and my adopted city nonstop. Will you be back on Tuesday? I think we will need to dance and drink and dance some more if Eiffel will have us!

    • emofalltrades

      Hi Jessica – I hope Dave and the house are ok and that you get home safely. I’m going to be gone until mid-month. I’m excited about the trip, but sad not to see everyone until then. I might try to tango in Atlanta and Chicago before I get back, but I’m definitely missing Nola and the Louisiana tangueros.

  2. Pingback: The Grandma Road Trip – Leg One | Jill of All Genres

  3. Pingback: My end of 2012 homework | Jill of All Genres

Leave a Reply

