Dearest Friends, Family and Neighbors

I am participating in National Novel Writing Month in 2012, the hellish and inspiring, self-afflicted journey of 50,000 words. I have participated every year since 2007 and have won three out of my five previous attempts and I have every intention of winning again this year.

What does this mean for you? If you know and care about me in real life, you will likely notice some disturbing patterns. I might disappear from most or all social settings that you would expect to see me attending. My home and possibly my hygiene could suffer. I will be sleep-deprived, probably eating little or very badly and I will, in all honesty, ignore or forget promises that I foolishly made to you. Don’t be surprised if I am seen in public muttering to myself or making euphoric and/or angry faces that seem unconnected to my external environment. If you don’t know or care about me in real life, you may still suffer an electronic version of this, the main symptom of which is updating my blog/social media sites too frequently with ambiguous and frustrated, but annoyingly hopeful, posts.

I will, in short, become — very soon, but hopefully temporarily — a malnourished, stinky madwoman that you are embarrassed to be in any way associated with. But I give you this fair warning because I will spend the next month creating something both beautiful and impossible and, if you know me, care about me, or are just reading this, you are making a contract with me.

It is this: I will win, or try very hard to win, simply because you know what I’m attempting to do. You need do nothing further to uphold your end of our bargain. However, if you should care to speak kindly to me though I am clearly deranged, maybe even feed me healthy and warm meals on occasion, and above all, send me words of encouragement, here or privately, you would be going above and beyond the conditions of your contract, but I would appreciate it very, very much.

If you plan to participae in NaNoWriMo 2012, please let me know. It’ll be nice to have company in this craziness. I am thatagirldarling in NaNoLand.

6 Comments

Filed under family, Friends, NaNoWriMo, writing updates

6 responses to “Dearest Friends, Family and Neighbors

  1. OK I reopened myself to the NaNo madness and messaged you… handle=cupcake 🙂 Are you going to a write in to kickoff on Thursday?

    • emofalltrades

      Yay!! NOW, this is going to be really fun. I have to do some freelance work on Thursday, but I already planned on starting late since I’m sure your Halloween party will keep me up and out late. Do you want to meet for breakfast, not talk to each other and do a quick word war?

  2. emofalltrades

    Sending you a private message. 😉

  3. I’ll be right there with you. Having done this five times before, I know how it can get.

Leave a Reply

