NaNoWriMo 2012 Day 3

I met Maurice for breakfast at Slim Goodie’s this morning, under the condition that he had to word war with me, even though he’s not participating in NaNoWriMo. Since he’s going into thesis crunch time right about now, I think I’ll let him off the hook. After we placed our orders, we each wrote furiously in our notebooks. In the 15 minutes before the food arrived, I managed 402 words. It looked like Maurice wrote a smidge less than me, but he swears my handwriting is bigger than his.

After breakfast, I volunteered at the library book sale and ran some errands, then went home and finished the book I’ve been reading, Cheryl Strayed’s Wild.

Jessica and I texted each other and decided to war for 20 minutes. I wrote a further 845 and I swear the last words I typed felt like the end of a chapter. I don’t usually organize my frantic NaNo writings into chapters, but it just felt natural.

Day 3 word count (so far): 1,247

Total word count (so far): 5,674

[11:43 p.m. update]

I had a half hour writing session, trying to get just a little bit further ahead, and added 555 more words. So far, this story is incredibly easy to write. It’s just a matter of setting aside some time. Hopefully, that’ll remain true through the rest of the month.

Total Day 3 word count: 1,802

Total word count (so far): 6,229

6 Comments

Filed under books, Friends, NaNoWriMo, New Orleans, what I'm reading, writing updates

6 responses to “NaNoWriMo 2012 Day 3

  1. Aren’t you just loving Wild? I loved it so much I read Tiny Beautiful Things last week and I’m reading Torch now.
    Good luck with NaNoWriMo!

    • emofalltrades

      I read them in the reverse order – Tiny Beautiful Things first because I was already a Sugar/Rumpus fan. I was so struck by Sugar/Cheryl’s ability to use her life experiences to illustrate her advice, in the most raw and honest way without making the writing about herself. That’s pretty incredible. Wild was all about her and I was still so impressed that it didn’t feel self-indulgent to me. It still felt raw and honest, funny and gut-wrenchingly painful. Guess I’ll read Torch last, too. Maybe we should both review it. 🙂

      Thanks for your good wishes. Are you doing NaNoWriMo?

  2. emofalltrades

    That’s wonderful! You know what that means! I’ll be bragging on you soon… 🙂

  3. You’re making great progress — that’s really inspirational! I have not been as successful so far, but I’m not giving up, either! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

