NaNoWriMo 2012 Day 9

Today was a good, productive day. I tackled a few items on my freelance to-do list, went by the grocery store and then a book event, Summer Wood’s reading from her novel Raising Wrecker at Garden District Bookshop. I saw a lot of writers I know in that crowd and Summer gave a fantastic reading. I can’t wait to read the book.

When I got home, I watched the documentary First Position cause it needs to go back to the library tomorrow. It’s about 6 young ballet dancers who are competing in the Youth American Grand Prix. It’s very good and left me wondering what’s going on with those dancers, though I know one performed on Dancing with the Stars recently.

Then, I wrote. The scene that was next up was an interesting one, because it’s an action sequence that I had to figure out, so I’ve been thinking about it all day. I’ve been excited to write it, but also dreading it a bit because I’ve been planning to kill of this character who I’ve really started to like. So, during the writing session, I couldn’t seem to put her in danger. Other characters kept offering themselves up, sort of saying, “Take me instead!” And I’d kill them off too, raising the body count, then say to myself, “But you really do need to kill off X, so stop procrastinating.” Yes, writers are weird and this is the stuff we think about when you think we’re just staring off into space. Oh, by the way, cause it’s probably important to note, I’m writing a zombie apocalypse novel.

Day 9 word count: 1,174

Total word count (so far): 13,624

Status: Still behind, but not doing too badly.

2 Comments

Filed under books, bragging on, freelance work, Friends, movies, musing, NaNoWriMo, New Orleans, pop culture, writing updates

2 responses to “NaNoWriMo 2012 Day 9

  1. Pingback: NaNoWriMo 2012 Day 12 | Jill of All Genres

  2. Pingback: NaNoWriMo 2012 Day 24 | Jill of All Genres

Leave a Reply

