NaNoWriMo 2012 Day 17

I woke up feeling not sick for the first time in a few days, which was awesome. Spent a few hours volunteering at the library sales, then went over to the NaNoWriMo Write-In at Cafe Luna. There were a few WriMos there for the write-in and we did two word sprints before I left. As everyone settled in to eat a late lunch and write, one of the WriMos joked that all of her characters were eating and I realized that mine were, too. In the scene I’d started last night before face-planting on my notebook, all of my characters sat down to eat gumbo together in a rather Thanksgiving-like meal. I was writing by hand, so I didn’t get a tally of my words till I typed them up later in the day. Between the two sprints, I wrote 965 words and then added 210 more while I was typing them up.

Just a bit ago, I word-warred with myself (guess that’s a sprint, not a war) for 40 minutes and wrote another 1,368 words. I’m still behind, but not nearly as behind as I was at the beginning of today.

A few of the WriMos at the write-in had talked about chapters in their novels,which I thought was interesting. I hadn’t actually broken down the novel into chapters, but I’d actively thought a few times, “Well, that’s a perfect ending to a chapter.” So, after my solo word war, I went back and broke what I have so far into chapters, based on those perfect chapter enders that I remembered. I must’ve been subconsciously working in chapters all along, because it was very easy to find the breaks. Each chapter is roughly 10 single-spaced pages (I always write my NaNoWriMo novels single-spaced for some reason, though I write everything else double-spaced) and each is around 6,000 words.

I’m going to dive back in and try to get more words before the night’s over, since I have a big treat planned for tomorrow and I want to earn it.

Day 17 (so far) word count: 2,543

Total word count (so far): 26,186.

11:05 p.m. update: Managed another 924 words in a half-hour sprint. I’m 1,229 words behind. Will have to catch up and store up some extra words tomorrow because I’m tapped out.

Day 17 total word count: 3,467

Total word count (so far): 27,110.

Leave a comment

Filed under food, music, NaNoWriMo, New Orleans, writing updates

Leave a Reply

