NaNoWriMo 2012 Day 27

Was a bit sniffly last night, but powered through. But by the time I’d written my words for the day and went to bed, I was so sick I couldn’t sleep. So today has been pretty rough. Horribly sick, tired, lots of work to do and no words until just a short while ago, when I wrote 862 of them. This is why it pays to get ahead, though I wish I’d banked just a bit more before suffering the inevitable NaNo cold. I remain hopeful that I’ll be able to finish tomorrow anyway, and I’m still working tonight, so we’ll see how it goes.

Day 27 word count (so far): 862

Total word count (so far): 47,152.

10:03 p.m. Update:

So, I wrote my words during the 2-hour Dancing with the Stars finale, I must confess. Since I’m sick and can’t tango tonight, I wanted to enjoy the show live because my mom and I text when we’re both watching it. Not only am I thrilled that I got to see Melissa win (!), the multi-tasking seems to have focused me. I wrote 1,137 words during that two hour episode!

Day 27 word count (so far): 1,999

Total word count (so far): 48,289.

Y’all, I can’t believe this, but I only have 1,711 words left! I could possibly finish this tonight. I have two hours to try! Who wants to word war?

11:27 p.m. Update:

I finished! Just a little while ago, I crossed the 50,000 word finish line, then kept typing to finish the scene and also to make absolutely sure that I’d written 50K according to NaNo’s validating technology. I would hate to think I’d written 50K, only to have discovered I’d written 49,987 words. Anyway, by my count, I wrote 1,801 words in this final push:

Day 27 word count: 3,800

Total word count: 50,090.

Sure enough, the validating technology has me winning with 9 fewer words, but I’m okay with 50,081. Good luck to those of you still pushing for the 50K. You can do it! I know you can, absolutely.

1 Comment

Filed under freelance work, NaNoWriMo, writing updates

One response to “NaNoWriMo 2012 Day 27

  1. Pingback: My end of 2012 homework | Jill of All Genres

Leave a Reply

