NaNoWriMo 2013 Day 7

Only 801 words today, but I’ve finished the next chapter in the book, smoothing out the rough edges. So today, the end of the first week of NaNoWriMo 2013, here is how I choose to look at my progress: I have finished two chapters that weren’t quite done yet. I have 87 pages of my novel that satisfy me. Of course, more of the novel is done than just those 87 pages, but I’m progressing through and wrapping up loose ends. I couldn’t be happier.

So, I’ll go ahead and tell you my ambition for this NaNoWriMo. I hope to finish the novel by the 15th and switch to the memoir for the rest of the month. Which means I have about 8 days to finish the novel. We’ll see how that goes. But it’s all a work in progress and you’re winning as long as you’re writing. At least, that’s what I’ve learned after all these years.

2 Comments

Filed under literature, NaNoWriMo, writing updates

2 responses to “NaNoWriMo 2013 Day 7

  1. I love the line, “you’re winning as long as you’re writing.” So true! Thank you for the reminder that attempting and trying are just as valuable as winning. Good luck!

    • emofalltrades

      Hey Ashlee – thanks for your comment! Some years, the drive to “win” is necessary to keep going, which is why I think this insane challenge works so well for me and for others. This year, I’ve got something else fueling the engine and while I think it would be pretty great and incredible to get to 50,000 words, I’m proud of myself for whatever I do accomplish. And also, finishing my decade-in-the-making novel by the 15th is already an insane challenge. 🙂 Good luck with all your words (and your work) this NaNo. I hope you check in again and let me know how the month’s going for you!

Leave a Reply

