The Emily Curse

Earlier this month, Maurice sent me a link to a Radiolab story called “Finding Emilie”. It is a phenomenal story about an art student, her tragic accident and her boyfriend’s conviction that she could recover. It WILL make you cry, regardless of how stoic you think you are.

There’s a point partway through the story where Emilie’s mother talks about how, of all her children, Emilie always seemed to get the bad stuff and she asks, “Why? Everything bad seems to happen to Emilie.” My automatic, flip answer was…”Because of her name!”

Having been an Emilie my whole life (except for a period in my early teens when I tried to make everyone call me Rachel), I have long studied this phenomena. Yes, it is a phenomena and it is real. And here is my evidence.

All of the really famous Emilys are generally creative, often writers, are usually unlucky in love and/or depressed and die early:

Emily Bronte, author of Wuthering Heights, died at age 30 and never married.

-The poet Emily Dickinson lived till age 56, but never married and barely left her room in her later life. Her poetry dealt extensively with death and mortality.

Fictional Emilys seem to fare even worse than real-life creative Emilys (even Maurice admits he has an ill-fated fictional Emily in his work):

-Emily Grierson from A Rose for Emily, who kills a suitor and presumably sleeps beside his corpse in a wedding suite until her own death.

-Emily Webb from Our Town who dies giving birth.

-Emma/Emmeline in the song by Hot Chocolate, who wants to be a famous actress and kills herself because she can’t achieve her dream. (Minute 3:12 will give you chills, but you have to listen to the whole song to get there.) This song is probably based on lead singer Errol Brown’s mother, I’ve read.

More scientific Emilys seem to be longer living. Not quite as famous as the creative ones, they are just as successful. But that makes sense because one of the meanings of the name Emily is to strive or excel or rival. I’ve also heard that Emily means “industrious one.”

I don’t buy into the Emily Curse… but I’m getting a little ticked off by this perception around the name. Doomed, fragile Emilys vs. hard-working scientific Emilys? Why does everything happen to Emily?

And that’s what I like about the Emilie in the Radiolab story above. Though there’s tragedy in her story, I get the impression she is the most stubborn, persistent person. And that she will continue to triumph. I want more Emily/Emilies with her spirit and determination in fiction and in real life.

In that vein, there’s Emily the Strange, a goth teenager with attitude, who doesn’t entirely fit the mold. While she wears all black and never seems to smile, she’s strong and sarcastic. I hear Chloe Morentz may play her in the movie version. All I can think is that after her roles in Kick-Ass and Let Me In, she is NEVER going to smile in a role again.

But, check out a coincidence I stumbled upon while putting this post together:

Emily the Strange

Emilie the not-so-strange

4 Comments

Filed under Friends, funny, literature, musing, poetry, pop culture, random rant, weirdness

4 responses to “The Emily Curse

  1. What makes you think you’re not-so-strange? Ha, ha. (This from someone who takes strange as a compliment… who wants to be normal?)

    Haven’t been here in a while, thought I’d stop by! Fun entry.

  2. emofalltrades

    Lol. I used to think I wasn’t weird enough to be a writer. Then, I spent some time around non-writers and realized I’m exactly weird enough. ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad you stopped by and thanks.

  3. Emmaline

    Very good. I think I do believe in the Emily curse (I was named after the hot chocolate song). I have the most tremendous amount of bad luck. My mother says that I make soap operas look believable! I do however keep chugging along hoping that one day the universe will decide that I deserve some good luck ๐Ÿ™‚

    • emofalltrades

      After I wrote this post, I was surprised by the amount of times people searched, “the emily curse,” so maybe it is an actual real phenomena and not something I decided to go on about for a laugh. I’m sorry about your bad luck. Change your name to Rachel for a bit and see if that helps out. In all seriousness, Emilys (and all spellings/derrivatives) tend to be really strong and special, so if there’s a curse associated with our name, it’s not anything we can’t handle. And I suspect from the examples I listed that Emilys tend to have success proportionate to their bad luck, so there IS good luck coming your way.

      As it is, Emilie is a family name and I was named (indirectly) for an Emil. Also, my mother almost named me Emmaline. I think it’s a gorgeous name.

Leave a comment